Six benefits of Re-reading Books |Fiction Friday – Discussion|

Last year I read We Were Liars by E.Lockhart  and fell in love with the story. I  enjoyed reading it and I was completely surprised by the plot-twist. I gave it 4/5 star rating on goodreads (shameless plug: follow me on goodreads!).

I’m not a big re-reader. I think I’ve re-read a total of two books in my entire life.  But, re-reading We Were Liars changed my thoughts on re-reading. It’s not like I hated re-reading before this but I didn’t see much of a point in it. Therefore, I present to you:

The Benefits of Re-Reading!

  1. Foreshadowing – The first time I read We Were Liars I was completely oblivious to what the “surprise” was. This time I noticed all the small clues and hints scattered throughout the book. I even jotted down everything I didn’t pick up on the first time around. I think it really has helped me form more theories about the characters.
  2. Nostalgia – This one is obvious, but re-reading allows you to experience the story over again. I know a lot of readers who re-read books from their childhood *cough* HARRY POTTER*cough* so that they can relive the magic.
  3. Writing vs. Plot – The first time I read a book I don’t pay much attention to the writing. I tend to focus on the plot because that’s what draws readers in. Re-reading allows you to study the writing of authors you love. See if there’s anything they do that you can gather inspiration from or implement into your own writing. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys writing or wants to make a profession out of it!
  4. Comparing Opinions – Maybe you hated one character the first time you read a book but the next time around they become your favorite. Or perhaps your opinions don’t change at all. For instance, I still gave We Were Liars 4/5 stars after re-reading it.
  5. New Messages – Re-reading a book may give you a different perspective of the story. Reading a book once limits the lessons you can learn from it.
  6. Life Changes – So many things can change from when you first pick up a book to when you re-read it. This requires a bit of self-reflection, but see if any new experiences change your view of a book. Reading Fangirl in high school has a different impact than reading it in college.

I hope that this has given everyone something to think about but let’s take it a step further. Before the year is out I want to re-read at least two more books (Fangirl and another book I haven’t chosen yet.) If you’re not much of a re-reader either, I challenge you to re-read one of your favorites! Comment which book you’re interested in re-reading.

– Queen Celine

Leave a Reply

